Writ Petitions

A writ is an order or direction issued by the High Court or Supreme Court for a public office holder to do or not to do an act.

There are five types of writ namely:

  1. Writ of HabeasCorpus: If a person is illegally detained by a governmentofficer or a public authority, the Court can order to release him and summonthe detained person.
  2. Writ of QuoWarranto: Quo Warranto is only for Public officers to inquire about thelegality of a claim which he or she is not entitled to do.
  3. Writ of Mandamus: If the public officials do not perform theirduties for which they are bound, the Court can order to perform their legalduties.
  4. Writ of Prohibition: If the Lower Courts ora government entity use their powers beyond their jurisdictions, the High Courtor Supreme Court may order them to stop doing the said act.
  5. Writ of Certiorari: If a legal error is believed to becommitted, the writ of Certiorari is issued by the High Court or Supreme Courtto Lower Courts or a government entity to transfer a particular matter to thehigher courts.

In case of violation of fundamental rights, a writ petition can be filed against the state, government agencies and private authorities discharging public functions.

Hyder Shar Law Associates provide services for filing Writ Petition and opposition for our valued clients in all courts of Law and has a track record of excellent results.

Ask a Question

Get legal advice from an lawyer